background image
Like Us On FacebookFollow Us On TwitterSubscribe to Our FeedSubscribe to Our Mailing List
TullyroanOval AghadoweyOval


Welcome To
We are Northern Ireland's premier Short Oval Motor Racing promotion, bringing you the very best in Stock Car, Hot Rod and Banger racing since 2003. We promote top flight race meetings at both Tullyroan Oval near Dungannon and Aghadowey Oval near Coleraine. From the high speed, high octane National Hot Rods, to the thrill a minute wreck 'em racing of the National Bangers, DMC Race Promotions have something for everyone, from the serious motorsport enthusiast to the family looking for a day out with a difference.

Coming Fixtures
Aghadowey Oval
29/2/2020 @ 2pm-7pm

Pre-Season Practice Day 1

Tullyroan Oval
7/3/2020 @ 2pm-7pm

Pre-Season Practice Day 2

Tullyroan Oval
14/3/2020 @ 6.30pm

National Hot Rods Simpson Race Exhausts 2020 World Series NI Round 7

2.0 Hot Rods
Lightning Rods
Junior Productions



Bell Rings Up National Hot Rod Win At Aghadowey
On a night of big grids and close racing, a large crowd at Aghadowey Oval were kept entertained throughout the 15-race programme. Portadown’s Glenn Bell took a fine win in the third round of the National Hot Rods Simpson Race Exhausts World Series NI, whilst there was a dominant 2.0 Hot Rods win for Antrim’s Mervyn Emerson. On his welcome back meeting to the local fans, newly crowned Stock Rods World Champion Derek McMillan continued his winning ways with another final victory, whilst Lurgan’s Graham Meek was the winner of the Collision Accident Management Young Guns Series for Junior Productions. The final feature race winner at the JP Joinery & Construction of Londonderry sponsored event was Ballymena’s James Goldie, who scooped a heat and final double to take the Thunder Rods King of Aghadowey.

Another excellent turnout of National Hot Rods took to the track for Simpson Race Exhausts World Series NI Round 3, although Thomas Dilly unfortunately didn’t make it past practice with a blown engine. Adam Heatrick easily cruised to the opening heat win as many eyes were fixed on a pulsating battle between Shane Murray and Glenn Bell as they raced through from the red grade to fourth and fifth respectively behind Heatrick, Davy McKay and Podge McQuaid. Heat two saw a morale boosting win for McKay who has been beset with bad luck of late, leading home Terence McConalogue, Derek Martin and Bell.
The track was wet for the final, with McConalogue the first to show ahead of Podge McQuaid and Ian McReynolds. Bell though was on a mission, and he scythed through to the lead by quarter distance. Martin initially led the chase in second, but he succumbed late on to pressure from John Christie as he claimed the runner up slot.

A pleasing eighteen 2.0 Hot Rods took to the grid for their opening heat, and the going was hectic to say the least for the opening laps. Dean McFarland and Johnny McCloy disputed the early lead, before Gary Fowler squeezed past to the lead. Fowler took the chequered flag but was unfortunately docked two places for contact on McCloy. That handed the victory to McFarland, his first ever in the formula. Dean didn’t have to wait long for his second win, taking a clear win in heat two over Adam Best and Davy Potter.
It was damp come final time, with Lester McCloy the first to show before McFarland went ahead again despite his elevation to the yellow grade. The opening exchanges were dramatic to say the least, as Fowler spent a number of laps alongside McFarland as they contested the top spot. Fowler eventually made the move stick, but by now the star men were breathing down their necks. Mervyn Emerson was the one to watch, and he drove the perfect race to hit the front and pull clear to take a well deserved win. Fowler was a gallant runner up with Adam Best spinning across the line as he got the best of a great battle for third.

Nineteen Stock Rods took to the track as they got their 2020 World Qualifying campaign under way, after the new World Champion Derek McMillan had received a momento from DMC promoter Davy McCall. An early yellow flag was called in heat one when Michael Rodgers blew an engine in huge fashion and the unlucky Stevie McNiece found the wall in his new car having hit the resultant oil slick. Ryan Murphy led the opening laps before Dan Shannon powered ahead to take a decisive win over Jonny Cardwell and Rick Purdy. Heat two again saw Murphy out front for most of the distance before Cardwell hit the front late on. Jonny was docked for contact on Murphy though, which handed the win to Sam Wilson ahead of Shannon.
Shannon hit the front early in the final before a caution period when Marc Morrell lost a wheel. Shannon made the slightest error at the restart, which allowed McMillan an overlap which Dan just couldn’t close again. Derek stormed ahead to take yet another final win, with Cardwell and Shannon filling the places.

The Junior Productions were contesting the Grand Final of the Collision Accident Management Young Guns Series, and there was a debut for former Ninja Karts star Lauren Berry. A great scrap for the opening heat win saw Adam McFall come out on top ahead of Mark Crawford and Jordan Nicholl. After some sterling pit work from his crew following a heat one crash, James Stewart not only made the grid for heat two but went on to take a great win over Sam McNeice and Crawford.
Aggregate points from across the series saw Crawford on pole position ahead of Sam Percy, with Graham Meek and Matthew Nicholl on row two. Nicholl had hot-footed it from Mondello Park near Dublin during the afternoon where he had been victorious in the Ginetta Junior series. Meek got the jump early on to hit the front in what were now very wet conditions, and despite a couple of caution periods Graham hung on for a well deserved series win ahead of Nicholl and Stewart. All three went home with six new race tyres between them courtesy of the series sponsor Collision Accident Management.

Paul Whelan from Tipperary joined the locals on track for the Thunder Rods King of Aghadowey. Irish Champion Andrew McLean had a faultless flag to flag win in the first heat over Gavin Gamble and Chris Baird, before NI Points Champion James Goldie took heat two over David Wilson and John Goligher.
On points Goldie and McLean shared the front row for the wet final, with Goldie quickly edging clear and Wilson slotting into second. Wilson kept Goldie honest all the way home, but it was James who took the win and the King of Aghadowey title over Wilson and McLean, with Baird and Jason Darragh next home.
Pics by John Wolsey

Many thanks to our meeting sponsors, JP Joinery & Building Contractor, Tel: 07811 414845

Added: 15/09/19

Share on FacebookTweet This