background image
Like Us On FacebookFollow Us On TwitterSubscribe to Our FeedSubscribe to Our Mailing List
TullyroanOval AghadoweyOval


Welcome To
We are Northern Ireland's premier Short Oval Motor Racing promotion, bringing you the very best in Stock Car, Hot Rod and Banger racing since 2003. We promote top flight race meetings at both Tullyroan Oval near Dungannon and Aghadowey Oval near Coleraine. From the high speed, high octane National Hot Rods, to the thrill a minute wreck 'em racing of the National Bangers, DMC Race Promotions have something for everyone, from the serious motorsport enthusiast to the family looking for a day out with a difference.

Coming Fixtures
Aghadowey Oval
29/2/2020 @ 2pm-7pm

Pre-Season Practice Day 1

Tullyroan Oval
7/3/2020 @ 2pm-7pm

Pre-Season Practice Day 2

Tullyroan Oval
14/3/2020 @ 6.30pm

National Hot Rods Simpson Race Exhausts 2020 World Series NI Round 7

2.0 Hot Rods
Lightning Rods
Junior Productions



Derek Defies Downpour To Land European Title
Kells driver Derek McMillan was crowned European Stock Rod Champion at Aghadowey Oval on Saturday evening in torrential rain. From a top quality field of over 40 drivers, Derek qualified on pole position and led the title race from flag to flag for his second European title win. The evening was blighted by some very heavy showers for the final few races, with other feature race victories at the S McAfee & Son of Ballymena sponsored event falling to Antrim’s Stephen Emerson in the 2.0 Hot Rods, Newtownabbey’s Calvin Blake in the 1300 Stock Cars and Ballymena’s Adam Graham in the Thunder Rods.

Three qualifying heats were required for the top quality Stock Rods entry from right across the British Isles. England’s Max Bradburn was the first to show in the dry opening qualifier, and he led all the way home ahead of Derek McMillan and defending European Champion Dean O’Dell from Bedfordshire. Bradburn was unfortunately then docked two places by the Stewards for jumping a mid-race restart, handing victory to McMillan. The second qualifier saw a clear victory for Scottish lady racer Siobhan Martin, who raced home well ahead of Jordan McCann and English ace Daniel Rea. The third qualifier saw an easy flag to flag win for Cullybackey’s National & Irish Champion Curtis Greer, ahead of Jonny Cardwell and Shane McMillan.

The B Final saw a win for Surrey’s World Champion Eric Walker, before Derek McMillan wheeled his car onto pole position for the European Championship final. Greer qualified alongside on the front row, with Stevie McNiece and Martin occupying row two. The heavens literally opened just before the start, with the track totally awash as they took the green flag. Derek quickly edged clear out front ahead of firstly McNiece and then Greer. A caution period for a stranded car wiped out Derek’s advantage, and soon Greer found himself demoted by an audacious move from Shane McMillan.
The McMillan brothers now occupied the top two positions, with Martin right there in third as the rain showed no sign of abating. Another caution again saw Derek’s lead evaporate, but he calmly raced clear once again and home to his second European Championship triumph. What makes it even more notable is that the young Kells ace missed almost all of the 2018 campaign through illness, and he has certainly bounced back in style! Martin again underlined her star potential in second having squeezed past Shane McMillan late on, with Antrim’s Stephen McCready grabbing third on the line.

Gary Grattan debuted a sublime new Nova Saloon 2.0 Hot Rod, but it was Ballymoney’s Thomas Morrison who continued his excellent 2019 form with a great win in the opening qualifier for the King of Aghadowey. Thomas Dilly and Drew McKeown were next up, before Antrim’s Stephen Emerson took the heat two win over Ryan McClure and Mervyn Emerson.
Aggregate points gave S Emerson pole spot for the final, and from there he duly romped home to take the King of Aghadowey crown over McClure and Scott Cochrane after a dominant display.

The 1300 Stock Cars also had their King of Aghadowey title to contest, with former Junior Productions star Gareth Halliday taking his first ever win in the senior ranks in the opening heat as he just held off a fast charging Calvin Blake. Newtownabbey ace Blake went one better in heat two, taking the win over Josh McKinstry and Jonny Patterson.
The circuit was saturated for the final, with recent Open Scottish Championship winner Robbie Wright the first to show out front. Blake was more than equal to Robbie’s pace though, knocking him wide with the bumper before storming past to a great King of Aghadowey win. Wright and McKinstry filled out the places.

As usual these days the Thunder Rods were well subscribed indeed, and it was debutant Adam Graham from Ballymena who took a splendid opening heat win after leading from flag to flag. As the rest battled behind, Johnny Pollock and Gavin Gamble came through for second and third. Londonderry driver Pollock then went one better in the second heat, this time taking the flag over Steven Elder and returnee William Donnell.
The Thunder Rods also had to cope with a sodden track come feature race time, and it was wet weather specialist Elder who pushed clear early on in horrendous conditions. Just as it looked cut and dried, Steven sensationally lost a wheel into turn one, bringing out the caution flags and closing the field right up for the restart. Graham was the man holding the trump card now, and he duly completed the remaining laps to mark a dream debut with a heat and final double. Donnell and Gamble completed the top three after another excellent outing from the budget racers.

Many thanks to our meeting sponsors, S McAfee & Son, Ballymena

Added: 17/06/19

Share on FacebookTweet This